Golden Secateurs Award

Carol Bristow

Every year the City of Hobart recognises an outstanding Bushcare volunteer who has made a positive and lasting contribution to the conservation of Hobart's bushland reserves and who inspires others to do the same.

These conservation heroes are given a Bushcare Legend Golden Secateurs Award and go into our Golden Secateurs Hall of Fame.

2023 award winner

This year's award recognises the outstanding contribution Dynnyrne resident Carol Bristow (pictured) has made to Bushcare in her 25 years of volunteering with the Waterworks Valley Landcare group.

About the awards

The awards began in 2008 and our first Golden Secateurs Legend was Antony Ault, a stalwart of the Friends of Knocklofty Bushcare group who was recognised for his role in helping to rid Knocklofty Reserve of gorse and other environmental weeds.

Antony has always been meticulous about documenting the work carried out at Knocklofty Reserve, a skill now considered best practice for managing the health of our bushland reserves.

Bushcare will always be deeply grateful for the work of its Bushcare Legends.

Golden Secateurs award winners

2023 – Carol Bristow

2022 – Nigel Rogers

2021 – Vicki Martin

2020 – Namkheang (Bryan) Ly

2019 – Rodney Arnold

2018 – Janet Stone

2017 – Gavin Wright

2016 – Astrid Wright

2015 – Ingrid Colman

2014 – Greg Summers

2013 – Andrew Hingston

2012 – Greg Kidd

2011 – Sue Gillespie

2010 – Peter Franklin

2009 – Sue Drake

2008 – Antony Ault