Hobart Current

artists 2020.jpg

Hobart Current is an innovative long-term partnership between the City of Hobart and the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, which replaces the 27-year-old City of Hobart Art Prize.

It is a major biennial program that will nurture and showcase contemporary artists working across different media, which may include visual art, performance, music, film, design, and literature.

Ten artists have been selected for the 2020 Hobart Current program: Brigita Ozolins (Tasmania), Dexter Rosengrave (Tasmania), Jacob Leary (Tasmania), James Newitt (Tasmania), Sinsa Mansell (Tasmania),  Nadege Philippe-Janon (Tasmania), Jagath Dheerasekara (NSW), Sarah-Jane Pell (Vic), Suryo Herlambang (Indonesia), and Uncle Wes Marne (NSW).

The artists were chosen by the inaugural Hobart Current Creative Director, Rosie Dennis, following an extensive Expression of Interest process. Ms Dennis will now work closely with the artists to develop their works in line with the chosen theme Liberty: from Here to Here.

The artists may be working across any art form, including visual art, design, screen and digital arts, literature, music, theatre, sound, live art and installation. The final works will be installed at TMAG and sites specifically in Hobart.

Full details can be found on the Hobart Current website.

Hobart Current Liberty Public Program(PDF, 724KB)