

## Monday, 2 December 2019 AT 7.33 PM VENUE: LORD MAYOR'S COURT ROOM, TOWN HALL

#### **PRESENT**

The Lord Mayor Councillor A M Reynolds (Chairman), the Deputy Lord Mayor Councillor H Burnet, Aldermen J R Briscoe, D C Thomas, T M Denison, Councillor W F Harvey, Alderman S Behrakis, Councillors M Dutta, H Ewin and Z Sherlock.

Mr	Lee	Alderton	
Mr	Shane	Arnol	
Ms	Christine	Bailey,	Hobart Jazz Club
Mr	Jacob	Batt	
Mr	Alaric	Bennett	
Mr	Wayne	Bennett	
Mr	Peter	Blackwell	
Ms	Yvonne	Bottomley	
Mr	Matthew	Brown	
Mr	Craig	Brown	
Ms	Sarah	Campbell	
Ms	Lily	Chan	Chinese Community Association
Mr	Daniel	Chan,	Chinese Community Association
Mr	Geoff	Cook	
Ms	Ros	Cornish	Lady Gowrie Tasmania
Mr	Brian	Corr	President - Hobart Not Highrise Inc

Mr	Peter	Craig	
Mr	John	Daniels	
Ms	Hilary	Dawkins	
Mr	Graeme	Dazeley	Colour Circle
Mr	Aaron	De La Torre	
Mr	Aruna	De Silva	
Mr	Pradip	Dhungana	Nepalese Society
Ms	Lee	Direen	
Mr	Robert	Elson	
Mr	Matthew	Etherington	2019 Young Citizen of the Year
Mr	Scott	Francis	_
Ms	Melanie	Gent	
Mr	lan	Hewitt	TasTAFE
Ms	Jennifer	Hickey	
Mr	David	Hudson	Chairman - Risk and Audit Panel
Mr	William	John Nichols	
Mr	Gavin	Johnstone	
Mr	Richard	Law	
Ms	Amelia	Lawrence	Youth Advisory Squad
Mr	John	Lindsay	•
Mr	James	Mackay	
Ms	Jill	Maclaurin-Hudspeth	
Mr	Rhys	Mansfield	
Mr	Gerard	McGushin	
Mr	Chris	Merridew	
Mr	Kevin	Midson	AWU
Mr	Charles	Morgan	Chairman - Battery Point Community
			Association
Ms	Elspeth	Moroni	
Mr	Scott	Munday	
Ms	Annette	Ogilvie	Lions Club of Hobart Town Inc
Mr	James	Osborne	
Mr	Ray	Paine	
Ms	Adela	Parnell	
Mr	David	Pennicott	
Mr	Eric	Pinkard	
Mr	Marcus	Pringle-Jones	President - Sandy Bay Regatta
		▼	Association
Mr	Blair	Richards	
Mr	Tim	Roussow	
Mr	Stephen	Sapwell	
Mr	Peter	Schieck	
Mr	William	Shackcloth	
Mr	Elliott	Shane Bowden	
Ms	Sheena	Sims	The Hobart Embroiderers' Guild Inc
Ms	Barbara	Spitzer	
Ms	Bernarda	Spitzer	

Ms Karen Stack Mr Michael Stewart

Ms Karen Tantari ASU

Mr Anthony Whitfield

Mr Michael William Crellin

Mr Chris Williams President - TasPride Inc

Mr David Wilson Mr Marti Zucco

### **LEAVE OF ABSENCE**

Alderman Dr P T Sexton.

#### **APOLOGIES**

Alderman M Zucco

**Amnesty International** 

Australian Red Cross MATES Program

Australian Red Cross Society (Tasmanian Division)

**Botanical Gardens Inc** 

Captain Kim Haworth, The Salvation Army

Colony 47 Inc

**Dominic College** 

Fahan School

Friends of the Royal Tasmanian

German Australian Club

Goulburn Street Primary School

John Paul II Catholic School

Latvian Association of Tasmania

Lifeline Hobart

Maritime Museum Tasmania Inc

Mental Health Council of Tasmania

Montrose Bay High School

Mount Nelson Primary School

Mr Bruce Todd, Hobart Older Persons' Reference Group

Mr Charlie Burton, TasCOSS Inc

Mr Darren Sturgess, Tennis Tas

Mr Michael Meredith

Mr Rod Whitehead, Auditor General

Ms Alison Flakemore

Ms Betty Coombe, Hobart Older Persons' Reference Group

Ms Bing Xu, Chinese Language Teachers' Association of

Tasmania

Ms Helen Todd, Hobart Older Persons' Reference Group

Ms Jen Newman, Regional Development Australia - Tasmania

Ms Margaret Reynolds

Ms Mary Massina, Macquarie Point Development Corporation

Ms Yabbo Thompson, Networking for Harmony

Netball Tasmania

New Town Croquet Club

**New Town Progress Association** 

Polish Ladies Auxiliary

Professor James Chin, Asia Institute Tasmania

**RACT** 

Royal Australian Institute of Architects

Sacred Heart College

Sir Guy Green AC, KBE, CVO

St Aloysius Catholic College (Junior School)

St Aloysius Catholic College (Senior School)

St Cuthbert's Catholic School

St Michael's Collegiate School

St Therese's Catholic Primary School

St Virgils College

Swimming Tasmania

Tasmanian Institute of Sport

The Friends' School

The Wilderness Society

Waterfront Business Community

### 1. DECLARE THE MEETING OPEN

The Lord Mayor opened the meeting at 7.33 pm, welcomed those in attendance and noted the apologies.

### 2. MINUTES OF THE AGM CONDUCTED ON 19 NOV 2018

The Lord Mayor noted the minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting held on Monday, 19 November 2018, which were confirmed by the Council at its meeting held on 21 January 2019.

### 3. MEETING PROCEDURES

The Lord Mayor noted the procedures for the conduct of the meeting were attached to the agenda.

#### 4. CITY OF HOBART ANNUAL REPORT

### 4.1 Chairman's address in respect of the 2018/2019 Annual Report

The Lord Mayor addressed the meeting in relations to the City's achievements for the 2018/2019 year in review and the Annual Report. **Attachments** 

A Lord Mayor's Address ⇒ 🖺

### 4.2 Acknowledgement of written submissions from electors of the City of Hobart in relation to the 2018/2019 Annual Report.

There were no written submissions received in relation to the 2018/2019 Annual Report.

### 4.3 Invitation to the community to ask questions in relation to the 2018/2019 Annual Report and the Council's activities.

Present members of the community were invited to ask questions relating to the 2018/2019 annual report and activites of the Council.

A number of questions were asked with responses provided by the Lord Mayor, General Manager or relavant senior staff member.

### 4.4 Call for a motion to adopt the 2018/2019 City of Hobart Annual Report

DEPUTY LORD MAYOR BRISCOE

That the City of Hobart Annual Report for 2018/2019 be adopted.

### MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

#### **VOTING RECORD**

**NOES** 

AYES

Lord Mayor Reynolds

**Deputy Lord Mayor Burnet** 

Briscoe

Thomas

Denison

Harvey

**Behrakis** 

Dutta

Ewin

Sherlock

### 5. CLOSURE OF MEETING

There being no further business, the Lord Mayor closed the meeting at 8.38pm

TAKEN AS READ AND SIGNED AS A CORRECT RECORD THIS XX DAY OF XX XX.

