

MINUTES

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Monday, 22 November 2021 AT 7.30PM VENUE: BALL ROOM, TOWN HALL

PRESENT

The Lord Mayor Councillor A M Reynolds, the Deputy Lord Mayor Councillor H Burnet, Aldermen M Zucco, J R Briscoe, Dr P T Sexton, D C Thomas, Councillors W F Harvey, Alderman S Behrakis, Councillors M S C Dutta, Dr Z E Sherlock and W N S Coats.

Ms Carol Hau from Lions Club of Hobart Town Inc Mr Charles Morgan from Battery Point Community Association Inc Mr Dustin Moore from Lenah Valley Community Association Inc Mr Frank Barta – Chairman from Risk and Audit Panel Ms Gaye Darling Dr Gerry McGushin from Medical Association for the Prevention of War (Australia) Ms Helen Daly from Hobart Walking Club Inc Mr James Chan Park & Mr Paul Kim from Korean Community Volunteer Association of Tasmania Mr Jeff Tong from Tasmanian Audit Office Ms Jenny Smith from North Hobart Community Association Ms Lousie Elliott Ms Megan Hale from Hobart Film Society Mr Michael Packer Mr Peter Douglas – Chairman from Sandy Bay Regatta Association Mr Robert Grey from Hobart Legacy

Ms Rosemary Kellaway from Child Health Association Ms Sandra Bingham - State Secretary & Ms Sally Tame - State President from Country Women's Association of Tasmania Ms Sophie Underwood from Planning Matters Alliance Tasmania Mr Tim Short - Director Community Life from City of Hobart

LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Councillor J Fox

APOLOGIES

A Representative from Camp Quality Tasmania A Representative from Hobart City Mission Inc A Representative from Mission to Seafarers Hobart Station A Representative from Richmond Fellowship of Tasmania Inc. A Representative from St Giles A Representative from Tasmanian Deaf Society A Representative from Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery A Representative from The Arts Society of Tasmania Mr Alfred Merse from SKAL Ms Caroline Pegg from The Association for Children with Disability (Tas) Inc (ACD) Mr Frans Sakul from Australian Indonesian Association of Tasmania Ms Katie Cooper from Metro Tasmania Ms Linley Grant OAM from WILPF Ms Liz Crane CEO from Families Tasmania Mr Peter Shelley from Mens Shed of Tasmania Prof Rufus Black, Vice-Chancellor of University of Tasmania Dr Samuel Gough, Event of the Year 2021 - Show Hope Mr Sheng-Yuan Lynch from Young Citizen of the Year 2021 Mr Steven Phipps from The Australian-Japan Society Ms Sue Ball from Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania Ms Tania Pengilly from Smart Seeds - GHD Ms Viciki Chapman, Citizen of the Year 2021 The Chief Executive Officer of Anglicare Tasmania Inc The Chief Executive Officer of Business Events Tasmania The Chief Executive Officer of Lifeline Tasmania The Chief Executive Officer of Tourism Tasmania The Chief Executive Officer of Youth Network of Tasmania The Chief Officer of Tasmania Fire Service The Director of Morton's Soccer School The Director of Tasmanian Institute of Sport The Executive Director of Australian Red Cross Society (Tasmanian Division) The Executive Officer of Arthritis & Osteoporosis Tasmania The President of Central Region Junior Soccer Association The President of Friends of the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens Inc The President of Hobart Zebras Football Club The President of Sandy Bay Sailing Club The President of South Hobart Football Club The President of Swimming Tasmania The President of Tasmanian Little Athletics Association The President of Waterfront Business Community

The Principal of Fahan School The Principal of St Mary's College The Secretary of Hobart Film Society Incorporated The Secretary of Neighbourhood Watch Tasmania Inc The Secretary of Taroona Football Club The Secretary of The Colour Circle Inc The Secretary of University of the Third Age – Hobart Inc.

1. DECLARE THE MEETING OPEN

The Lord Mayor opened the meeting at 7:30 pm, welcomed those in attendance and noted the apologies.

2. MINUTES OF THE AGM CONDUCTED ON 22 FEBRUARY 2021

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Monday, 22 February 2021, be confirmed as an accurate record.

DEPUTY LORD MAYOR COUNCILLOR BURNET COUNCILLOR HARVEY

That the recommendation be adopted.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The minutes were signed.

3. MEETING PROCEDURES

The Lord Mayor noted the procedures for the conduct of the meeting were attached to the agenda and provided an overview of how questions from the floor would be taken.

4. LORD MAYOR'S ADDRESS

Lord Mayor's Address

The Lord Mayor addressed the meeting in relation to the City's achievements for the 2020-21 year in review and the Annual Report.

Attachment

A Lord Mayor's Address ⇔ 🛣

5. 2020-21 ANNUAL REPORT

5.1 Acknowledgement of written submissions from electors of the City of Hobart in relation to the 2020-21 Annual Report.

There were no formal written submissions received in relation to the 2020-21 Annual Report however the Lord Mayor noted three questions had been submitted.

5.2 The Lord Mayor will invite questions from the community in relation to the 2020-21 Annual Report and the Lord Mayor's Address.

Present members of the community were invited to ask questions relating to the 2020-21 Annual Report and the Lord Mayor's Address.

A number of questions were asked with responses provided by the relevant senior member of staff. A recording of the meeting can be viewed on the <u>City of Hobart YouTube Page.</u>

5.3 The Lord Mayor will call for a motion to adopt the 2020-21 City of Hobart Annual Report.

DEPUTY LORD MAYOR COUNCILLOR BURNET ALDERMAN BEHRAKIS

That the City of Hobart Annual Report for 2020-21 be adopted.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6. CLOSURE OF MEETING

There being no further business, the Lord Mayor closed the meeting at 8.01 pm.

TAKEN AS READ AND SIGNED AS A CORRECT RECORD THIS 00TH DAY OF DECEMBER 2022.

CHAIRMAN