A-Z | Site map

International Delegations

2017 Signing of a Friendship City Agreement with Fuzhou, China

In January 2017 Hobart formalised a friendship agreement with the Chinese city of Fuzhou.

Fuzhou is a city of 8 million people and is an emerging powerhouse of new technology and growth in the Chinese economy. Fuzhou is also the capital of the Fujian Province which has been Tasmania's sister state for 36 years.

The official signing between Deputy Lord Mayor Ron Christie and Acting Mayor You of Fuzhou coincided with Hobart City Council Aldermen joining the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra on part of their tour of Eastern China.

The friendship city relationship will focus on improving information and trade between the two cities in sectors such as education, culture, science and technology, agriculture, aquaculture and tourism.


Customer Service Centre

16 Elizabeth St, Hobart
Office Hours: Mon–Fri 8.15am–5.15pm
Telephone (03) 6238 2711
Email coh@hobartcity.com.au

Postal address

Town Hall, Macquarie St
GPO Box 503
Hobart Tasmania 7001