A-Z | Site map

ANZAC Day 2017


ANZAC Day Parade

The Parade will start at 11am and will proceed past the Hobart Town Hall where the Governor, Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner AC will take the Salute from the official dais. The parade will then continue down Macquarie Street and on to the Cenotaph.

Other ANZAC Day events:

Hobart Dawn Service: 6am at the Cenotaph on the Queens Domain. Parking will be available from 4am, please arrive early to ensure a park before the service starts at 6am

Main Commemorative Service: 11.40am at the Cenotaph on the Queens Domain

"ANZAC Day is a time for reflection, thankfulness and remembrance, and this year marks the 102nd anniversary of the ANZAC landings at Gallipoli. During the Centenary of World War 1 in Hobart we will remember not only the original ANZACs who served at Gallipoli and the Western Front, but commemorate more than a century of service by Australian servicemen and women,” Ald Hickey said.

The Chairman of the RSL (Tasmania) Hobart ANZAC Day Commemorative Committee, Mr Terry Roe said: “This year we have these significant activities that we are recognising.” 

Firstly, the 100th anniversary of the following significant WW 1 battles:

  • Battle of Bullecourt – 11 April 1917
  • Battle of Polygon Wood – 20 September 1917 
  • Battle of Passchendaele – 12 October 1917
  • Battle of Beersheba – 31 October 1917

“This year also marks the 70th anniversary of the Australian Defence Force being involved in peacekeeping operations, when in 1947 four Australians, being the world’s first United Nations peacekeepers, were deployed to the first UN peacekeeping mission - the United Nations Good Offices Commission to Indonesia (UNGOC).

Customer Service Centre

16 Elizabeth St, Hobart
Office Hours: Mon–Fri 8.15am–5.15pm
Telephone (03) 6238 2711
Email coh@hobartcity.com.au

Postal address

Town Hall, Macquarie St
GPO Box 503
Hobart Tasmania 7001